

Golden Acorn (Outstanding Volunteer) and Outstanding Educator Awards

PLEASE USE NOMINATION FORM ON THE REVERSE SIDE TO SUBMIT YOUR CANDIDATE(S) BY Monday, March 26th and/or email TJMS PTSA!

If you know of individuals deserving of one these awards, please complete the information below. <u>USE ONE</u> <u>FORM FOR EACH AWARD</u>. Many parents, educators, and volunteers within our community make significant contributions to create an inspirational environment for our children. This is your chance to recognize and thank them for their efforts. Please help us in honoring those special individuals for their contributions of time and talents on behalf of children.

This year's award recipients will be recognized at a TJMS PTSA meeting, newsletters, emails, and tentatively at a Vancouver Council PTA reception typically held in May/June. TJMS PTSA presents the recipients with a special pin and certificate at a PTSA General Meeting and their name is engraved on the school's plaque, along with a contribution to the Washington State PTA Financial Grant Foundation. Donations are made in each recipient's name to the fund, which in turn contributes to the future of youth by awarding grants to students who are freshmen entering post-secondary education.

GOLDEN ACORN (OUTSTANDING VOLUNTEER) AWARD

Do you know an individual who is continually volunteering at Thomas Jefferson Middle School and in our community? The Golden Acorn is a very special award that recognizes volunteers who have given outstanding service to all children in the school community. Since the beginning of this program, more than 44,000 Golden Acorns have been presented to volunteers throughout Washington State. Each year, to recognize and honor individuals for their work with Thomas Jefferson Middle School children, the PTA awards those volunteers with the Golden Acorn. "This award is intended for the volunteers who have gone "*above and beyond*." When nominating an individual, please keep in mind this is truly an honor for continued and dedicated service.

OUTSTANDING EDUCATOR AWARD

Do you know an individual who has made a difference in your child's education? The Outstanding Educator Award was created to recognize educators who go *beyond normal expectations* of their jobs to make the learning environment fun, beneficial, and challenging and who has demonstrated a commitment to "making every child's potential a reality". Do you know an individual who has provided outstanding educational opportunities for children and/or made significant contributions that enhance their education? This is your chance to acknowledge those that provide outstanding education and contributions on behalf of our children. An educator can be a teacher, support staff, administrator, or community member.

PLEASE USE NOMINATION FORM ON THE REVERSE SIDE TO SUBMIT YOUR CANDIDATE(S) BY March 26th and/or email TJMS PTSA!

Email: ptsa.tjms@gmail.com <u>Facebook</u>: Thomas Jefferson Middle School PTSA 3.7.120 <u>Website</u>: tjmsptsa.weebly.com

TJMS PTSA Awards Nomination Form (one candidate per form)

I would like to nominate ______ Nominee's Email/Phone:

(Nominee's Name)

for consideration of the (check one) \Box <u>GOLDEN ACORN</u> or \Box <u>OUTSTANDING EDUCATOR</u> Award.

Your name:_____ Email/Phone:_____

Why do you feel this nominee should receive this award? (i.e. qualities, what makes them outstanding, how have they gone above and beyond, how have they made a difference in children's lives, etc.)

Please describe nominee's Volunteer and/or PTA Service:

Please describe nominee's School Community or other Community Service:

***Nominations can be made by anyone. Please be as specific as possible. Each nominee will be evaluated in the categories above and recipients selected by a committee. <u>Additional pages may be submitted</u>. *** Please turn in nomination form(s) to TJMS PTSA by Monday, March 26th. Thank you!

Congratulations again to our past recipients! *Past recipients may be nominated again.

GOLDEN ACORN (Outstanding Volunteer):	OUTSTANDING EDUCATOR:
2004-05 Kim Price and Lori Shipman	2004-05 Travis Wittwer
2005-06 Debbie Trimble	2005-06 Lisa Phillips
2006-07 Zorina Nolan	2006-07 Travis Wittwer
2007-08 Lisa Coy	2008-09 Melissa Kraemer-Leonhardt
2008-09 Dawn Anthony and Janice Hall	2009-10 Trevor Johnson
2009-10 Sherah Heil and Anne Thom	2009-10 Patrick Mongrain
2010-11 Ron Wagner	2010-11 Greg Roberts
2011-12 Jennifer Dockter	2011-12 Kelly Hathaway
2012-13 Rosalind Hatch-Pirkl	2012-13 Jeannette Hathaway
2013-14 Elizabeth Owen	2013-14 Becky Whitman
2014-15 Annamarie Hoobler	2014-15 Tammy Carlson and Autumn Smith
2015-16 Rhonda Dojan	2015-16 Jennifer McKay
2016-17 Pam Erdy and Tandi Gray	2016-17 Mona Dotson, Bill Sixour, Dominique Sukles, Sean Vance